Skip to content

World Car of the Year: Mercedes-Benz C-Class

The Mercedes-Benz C-Class has been voted “World Car of the Year 2015,” beating out the other two finalists – the Ford Mustang and Volkswagen Passat – all from an original group of 24 vehicles.

The World Car Awards (WCA) winners are chosen by a judging panel made up of 75 prominent automotive journalists from around the world that form a global community of experts. Each of them is appointed based on his or her expertise, experience, credibility by the World Car Steering Committee.

Mercedes-Benz took home three category wins, with the S-Class Coupé being voted “World Luxury Car 2015”, and the Mercedes-AMG GT sports car also winning the award for “World Performance Car 2015”.

The award was presented at this years New York International Auto Show, and was accepted by Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Chairman of the Board of Management of Daimler AG, Head of Mercedes-Benz.

Other Finalists:

  • BMW 2 Series Active Tourer
  • Citroën C4 Cactus
  • Hyundai Genesis
  • Jeep Renegade
  • Mazda2
  • MINI 5 door / MINI 4 door Hard Top
  • Nissan Qashqai
  • Chevrolet Tahoe/Suburban
  • Chrysler 200
  • Dodge Charger
  • Fiat 500X
  • Hyundai Sonata
  • Hyundai20
  • Kia Sorento
  • Nissan NP300
  • Opel Corsa
  • Renault Twingo
  • Subaru WRX / WRX STI
  • Toyota Camry
  • Toyota Highlander / Kluger
Published inAutomotiveMercedes-Benz